728x90 AdSpace

Thursday, March 6, 2014

Lok Sabha elections to be held in 9 phases from April 7 to May 12, counting on May 16

>> The Election Commission on Wednesday announced the schedule for the 2014 Lok Sabha elections saying they will be held in nine phases from April 7, 2014 to May 12, 2014.

>> Chief election commissioner VS Sampath announced the dates in a press conference. The two election commissioners HS Brahma and SNA Zaidi were also present.

>> The counting of votes to be held on May 16 and will be over in a day, Sampath told reporters.

>> The first date of poll shall be on April 7, 2014 which will be held in two states and six parliamentary constituencies will be covered. The second phase of poll on April 9 will cover seven constituencies in five states. The third phase on April 10 to cover 92 constituencies in 14 states and the fourth day of poll on April 12 to cover three states and five constituencies.

>> The fifth will be on April 17 which will cover 13 states and UTs and 122 constituencies and sixth phase will be on April 24, covering 12 states and 117 constituencies.

>> The seventh phase will be held on April 30 to cover nine states and 89 constituencies, eighth phase on May 7 will cover seven states and 64 constituencies and the last and ninth phase on will be on May 12 and cover 3 states and 41 constituencies.

Model Code of Conduct in effect!!
>> The model code of conduct has come into immediate effect. It prevents the government from making any decisions that can be seen as influencing voters. It also prohibits political parties from making unsubstantiated allegations against opponents.

>> Chief election commissioner said that the total number of electorate this year stands at 81.4 crore and has increased by 10 crore as compared to the last parliamentary elections in 2009.

>> The chief election commissioner also said there has been a 12% increase in the number of polling stations in the country with 9,30,000 stations this year. There were 8.3 lakh stations in the last elections.

>> Andhra Pradesh, including the regions comprising Telangana, Odisha and Sikkim will go to polls to elect new assemblies.Election commissioner Brahma said that all Maoist-hit areas will be covered in a single day across India.

>> The decision to announce the dates to elect 543 members to Lok Sabha was taken after a series of meeting by Sampath on Tuesday and firming up of the security plan.

>> In a first for general elections, voters will also be able to reject all candidates with None Of The Above (NOTA) buttons on 1.5 million electronic voting machines (EVMs).The EC will also experiment with verifiable paper trail system with EVMs in about 10,000 polling booths.

Here is the Lok Sabha Poll Schedule for each state

Andhra Pradesh
April 30, May 7
Arunchal Pradesh
April 9
April 7, 12, 24
April 10, 17, 24, 30, May 7, 12
April 17
April 30
April 10
Himachal Pradesh
May 7
Jammu & Kashmir
April 10, 17, 24, 30, May 7
April 17
April 10
Madhya Pradesh
April 10, 17, 24
April 10, 17, 24
April 9, 17
April 9
April 9
April 9
April 10, 17
April 30
April 17, 24
April 12
Tamil Nadu
April 24
April 7, 12
Uttar Pradesh
April 10, 17, 24, 30, May 7, 12
West Bengal
April 17, 24, 30, May 7, 12
April 10, 17, 24
April 10, 17, 24
May 7
Andaman & Nicobar Islands
April 10
April 10
Dadra & Nagar Haveli
April 30
Daman & Diu
April 30
Lok Sabha elections to be held in 9 phases from April 7 to May 12, counting on May 16 Reviewed by Currentaffairs4examz on 6.3.14 Rating: 5 >> The Election Commission on Wednesday announced the schedule for the 2014 Lok Sabha elec...

No comments :