728x90 AdSpace

Monday, June 24, 2013

Team India lifted ICC Champions Trophy 2013

Team India lifted ICC Champions Trophy 2013

India beat England by five runs in a thrilling rain-disrupted final to lift the last ICC Champions Trophy at Edgbaston on 23.06.13 (Sunday). Henceforth there will be no ICC Champions Trophy and ICC is planning to bring in World Test Series in its place.

In a match reduced to 20 overs a side, a fifth-wicket partnership of 64 between Eoin Morgan and Ravi Bopara put England in sight of a victory target of 130 and their first major 50-over trophy. But the pair fell to successive deliveries by Ishant Sharma and England's lower order crumbled as the hosts finished on 124 for eight.

Miserly bowling by Bopara and James Tredwell helped England restrict India to 129 for seven after the start of play had been delayed by nearly six hours due to persistent rain.

Virat Kohli top-scored with 43 and Shikhar Dhawan, the tournament's leading run-scorer, made a breezy 31 but India were never able to dominate a disciplined England attack. Rohit Sharma was bowled by Stuart Broad for nine and Dhawan mis-timed a drive in Bopara's first over and was caught by Tredwell at mid-off.

Dinesh Karthik skied a catch off Tredwell and Bopara struck twice in his third over, getting Suresh Raina caught by Alastair Cook at mid-on and dangerman MS Dhoni well taken by Tredwell on the third man boundary.

Bopara completed excellent figures of three for 20 but Kohli and Ravindra Jadeja took 30 runs off the next three overs and Kohli, badly dropped by Jonathan Trott, launched Broad for a massive six over square leg. Kohli skied James Anderson to long off but Jadeja finished unbeaten on 33 after clouting Tim Bresnan for another six in the final over of the innings.

England lost wickets steadily at the start of their reply.

Cook fell for two, edging a catch to first slip off Umesh Yadav, Trott made a fluent 20 off 17 balls before being stumped by Dhoni off Ravichandran Ashwin and Joe Root pulled the same bowler straight to long leg.

Man of the Series- Shikhar Dhawan
Man of the Match- Ravindra Jadeja

The trophy became another golden feather in Dhoni's Cap, under whose captaincy now India has lifted all major ICC Trophies. Indian won inaugural T-20 World Cup in 2007 followed by ICC World Cup in 2011 under Dhoni's Captaincy. Earlier Indian had shared ICC Champions Trophy in 2002 with Sri Lanka which was also disrupted by rain.

India’s Road to victory in Champions Trophy

1) 1st Group Match: India v South Africa at Cardiff - Jun 6, 2013
India 331/7 (50/50 ov); South Africa 305 (50/50 ov)
India won by 26 runs

2)  2nd Group Match: India v West Indies at The Oval - Jun 11, 2013
West Indies 233/9 (50/50 ov); India 236/2 (39.1/50 ov)
India won by 8 wickets (with 65 balls remaining)

3)  3rd Group Match: India v Pakistan at Birmingham - Jun 15, 2013
Pakistan 165 (39.4/40 ov); India 102/2 (19.1/22 ov, target: 102)
India won by 8 wickets (with 17 balls remaining) (D/L method)

4)  In Semi-Final: India v Sri Lanka at Cardiff - Jun 20, 2013
Sri Lanka 181/8 (50/50 ov); India 182/2 (35/50 ov)
India won by 8 wickets (with 90 balls remaining)

5)  Final: England v India at Birmingham - Jun 23, 2013
India 129/7 (20/20 ov); England 124/8 (20/20 ov)

India won by 5 runs
Team India lifted ICC Champions Trophy 2013 Reviewed by Admin on 24.6.13 Rating: 5 Team India lifted ICC Champions Trophy 2013 India beat England by five runs in a thrilling rain-disrupted final to lift the last IC...

No comments :